UKC

Bouldering - Progressing through the grades

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 StevenF 26 Nov 2013
Hello,

I am a beginner climber (10 months or so) and get to the climbing gym on average once per week. The rest of the time I spent in my normal gym doing weight training (which I have done for years).

I can climb all the "Green routes" in my gym which are labelled Font 5a-5b+, however the next grade up - which is Font 6a+-(?) - I find is a massive step up in terms of difficultly. It contains a lot of slopers and small pinches which I really struggle with. I can usually only complete one route of this grade, the rest are just far to difficult.

Does anyone have any advice on how to progress to the next level? I guess the answer is going to be to do more bouldering. Is there a way I could structure my training rather than just climb a route, rest, climb, rest and repeat?

Thank you.
 AMorris 27 Nov 2013
In reply to StevenF: