UKC

Chamonix rock route recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 duncan b 06 Jan 2014
I'm probably heading to Chamonix over the summer and have an eye on the Swiss direct, Bonatti route, Guliver's travels on the Grand Capucin and the American direct in the Dru. As I'm pretty new to this alpine malarkey I was wondering if anyone could recommend any other rock routes of a similar quality and difficulty with straight forward approaches.

Also, if anyone has any up to date knowledge on the American direct that would be much appreciated. As I understand it the top section was badly affected by a recent rock fall but the bottom is OK? Is it now common for people to ab off from the jammed block because of this or do most traverse in to the north face route. How feasible is the traverse?

Finally, forgive me if this comes across as naive, but I get the impression a lot of the classic routes are crack climbs. Are we talking Yosemite style cracks, i.e. hard and scary, or more amenable cracks supplemented with face holds?

Cheers,

Duncan.
 Fredt 06 Jan 2014
In reply to duncan b:

If you are pretty new to this Alpine malarky, that list has some serious stuff on it.
The approach to the Dru alone can be an epic.

I would strongly recommend something a little gentler gradewise to start with, so you can familiarise with the current conditions, altitude, approaches, weather etc. The biggest difference between 'climbing' and Alpine climbing is about the absolute neccessity for speed, and the compromises you'll have to make to achieve it, (less gear, general multi-day fitness etc.)

The cracks are not generally Yosemiteish, though some are if you want them.
In reply to duncan b:

Judging by your profile you should find the climbing easy enough. The crack climbing is generally more like that found in Tuolumne of Squamish than that found in Yosemite; i.e. quite featured rock rather than polished splitter cracks.