UKC

Imperial College London

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 BnB 09 Jan 2014
Has anyone attended Imperial College recently (or teaches there)? Maybe other London establishments, who can offer similar insight?

I'm trying to give my son some guidance as to university choices and wondered whether the science bias at Imperial together with the unique character of London living makes for a less rounded university experience.

Any thoughts?

Please don't recommend alternative universities. He already has a number of offers. He's just trying to establish his first choice.
 ClimberEd 09 Jan 2014
In reply to BnB:

I did a masters there 6 years ago.

I wouldn't be too concerned about the science bias (I am assuming he wants to read something science related) but I would think carefully about being a student in London - that is certainly a very different experience from being a student at a campus university or in a small town. (pros and cons reasonably obvious I hope)
 crayefish 09 Jan 2014
In reply to BnB:

I did my four year MEng there. If your son gets an offer from Imperial then my only advice is TAKE IT! For engineering and some sciences there is no better university in Europe.

However, it is not one of those places where you'll get a lot of help or your hand held throughout the course. For the most part the learning is left down to yourself and you have to be very self motivated. But despite this, a degree from Imperial will set you up for life.
cp123 09 Jan 2014
In reply to BnB:

I got offered a place for physics at imperial that I turned down in the end.

As mentioned above, it is one of the best unis worldwide for science/engineering BUT there are a lot of blokes and many foreign students which according to my colleague who studied there (physics, first) does affect the social aspect.

Supposedly the girls in the science areas have a saying along the lines of 'the odds are good, but the goods are odd'!
 crayefish 09 Jan 2014