UKC

Training for old gits

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I have been climbing for 40 years but this last year - now an OAP - I have been visiting our local wall regularly and been outdoors several times. My technique has got better - footwork, movement & body position particularly but what seems to limit my development is finger strength. I don't train in any way other than climbing but it made me wonder if there were differences in the way this works in older people. Are there effects that mean that older muscles take longer to develop strength or indeed stop getting stronger even with exercise and start to weaken? Are there specific training regimes for older people? Does anyone have any knowledge of this please?
 deacondeacon 19 Jan 2014
In reply to keith-ratcliffe:

What is your current experience and what are your aims? Do you have particular weaknesses. Open handed, full crimps, pinches, slopers?sorry, no age related experience but I'm sure someone can help with that
 remus Global Crag Moderator 19 Jan 2014

Unless you're really getting on and/or are particularly unfit I wouldn't worry about specific age related problems. Just take things slowly and watch out for signs of injury.
In reply to deacondeacon:
I can currently manage most 6as and the odd 6b - my reason for wanting to get better is that it gives me a greater scope eg My local wall has about 40 climbs of which I can do 25, if I added 6bs it would give me another 9 climbs to have a go at. I find that after I have done about 10 climbs my fingers just uncurl from the smaller holds.
In reply to remus: Thanks for this - I don't see it as a problem particularly but I was quite interested in the physiology of exercising in older people. To date I haven't had any injuries - perhaps I'm not trying hard enough!

johncook 19 Jan 2014