UKC

5 'hindsight is a wonderful thing' tips for beginners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Oogachooga 11 Mar 2014

I have been climbing for around 10 months. 80% indoor leading, bouldering. Some trad experience and equal outdoor bouldering on Southern sandstone. I really enjoy sport climbing at the minute so my summer focus will be on that with a little trad.

It may be an ambiguous question for some but what would you change in your climbing journey so far? Any mistakes not worth making? Tips for us new ones on sport and trad (safety, training ect.)

Anything you wish someone had told you when you were starting out?

For instance, a big guy in the gym and a natural bodybuilder (used every single weight available on the leg press type wild man) once said to me: 'if you wanna get strong, just pick some excercises and get good at them'. That stuck with me and working with that simple routine after 5 or so years I can squat over twice my body weight.

I know there is a lot more factors in climbing so that's why I asked for 5.

Oh and I stay away from yellow snow and always remember to tie a figure of eight not a shoe lace bow ha!
Post edited at 00:07
 Ann S 12 Mar 2014
In reply to Oogachooga:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=37

Here's a few more than 5 to think about. Enjoy.
Donnie 12 Mar 2014
In reply to Oogachooga:

1. I would have started doing injury prevention type stuff much earlier. Antagonistic stuff, rotator cuff exercises, general stretching, warming up properly etc.
 Dandan 12 Mar 2014
In reply to Donnie:
Definitely this, you only think about injury prevention once you get injured and by then it's too late.
Get a warm up routine in place and a set of good shoulder and elbow stretches and exercises (along with any other potential problem areas that you think you might encounter) and try and stick to them - forever.
Also, be nice to your fingers, they are a bugger to fix.