UKC

what percent of climbers climb at 8a

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ribtech 22 Mar 2014
what percent of climbers climb at 8a i rekon is 30 percent
 Kimono 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:
3 maybe
Post edited at 02:25
 aln 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:

percentage
 Jonny2vests 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:
> what percent of climbers climb at 8a i rekon is 30 percent

Define climber, climb and climb at 8a. Onsight? Flash? Redpoint? Pinkpoint? Ballpoint? French 8a, Font 8a, Brit 8a?

Anyway you spin it, its a shit load lower than 30%.
Post edited at 04:49
 victorclimber 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:

lot lower than 30 percent ,bit like a golf handicap you may play off 3 or 4 but you don't do it all the time .does 1 success at 8a make you an 8a climber ..I think not
 deacondeacon 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:
I've been climbing for four years and go to the wall two or three times a week.
I reckon on an average night there might be one person (out of a about a hundred climbers) who can climb 8a.
The Foundry may have up to 6 or 7 (out of maybe 200 climbers) in an evening.
Whatever way you look at it it's gonna be under 5%.
I reckon more like 1-3% percent though if looking across the whole of the uk.
In reply to deacondeacon:
Out of 26 people I've climbed with the last few years only one (going on their UKC profile), or possibly two, have redpointed 8a. So certainly less than 10%, and likely less than 5%.
 Choss 22 Mar 2014
In reply to ribtech:
If im reading this right...

http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/graphs.html

0.7% of Climbs logged on UKC are 8a or above. So im Assuming a very low Percentage are Climbing in Those Grades, way Lower than 30%.
Post edited at 09:06
 john arran 22 Mar 2014