UKC

Clip in pedals and shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
speedymushmouse 05 Apr 2014
I'm new to road bikes and want to get my first clip in pedals and shoes. I'm a bit nervous about using them and falling with out getting my feet out. Any advice about what to go for ??
 Got a job rob 05 Apr 2014
In reply to speedymushmouse:

You will fall, until you are use to them. Its like climbing, do it and get use to it. But its sooooo much better. I ride a full sus mountain bike in clip ins. they let me climb like a mountain goat, I can push and pull the pedals out of corners. lots faster then normal pedals. you wont go back.

I have been told to go for MTB shoes and Spd pedals . Right info ?

The SPD system tends to be used by mountain bikers and cycle tourers, road bikers tend to go for systems like Look or Speedplay. There's no real reason why you can't use SPDs on a road bike, my wife always has.

The one advantage that SPDs have over say the Look system which is what I have on my road bike is that the cleats are usually recessed in to the sole of the shoes so they are easier to walk around in when off the bike.

andy 05 Apr 2014
Not if you're on a road bike - Rule 34.

http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/

More seriously, spd pedals are good if you're commuting and may have to walk much - but road pedals give you a bigger platform and road shoes are lighter and (usually) stiffer.

I use Speedplay as they're two sided and give you more "float".
Post edited at 13:52
 StefanB 05 Apr 2014

I started to use clip in pedals a couple of month ago. On the road there are fine. I only fell over once, when a dog unexpectedly ran in front of my bike.
Mountain biking though I have fallen over much more. The problem is that there are a bit more committing on technical stuff. You either get off the bike or stay on it. No more half hearted trying and putting a foot down. I find this hard to get used to.