UKC

How do you encourage and motivate?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 3B48 17 Jul 2014
So...
You're encouraging and motivating your climbing partner, whether on a trad lead, top rope, second or sport route, the style isn't the topic I'm aiming at here...
What do you say / do to encourage them, when they're struggling, faltering, scared or trying hard to get to another level?
What works best?
On the receiving end, what words of wisdom / advice have motivated you to get the job done when you're struggling on the climb or trying something on your 'next level'?

Sent from my iPhone
 Mountain Lass 17 Jul 2014
In reply to Lobsbelow:

Generally it depends on the person and their level of experience.

With absolute beginners I generally let them down as soon as they ask with lots of praise for however far they got, and they are raring to go again as soon as possible. The only exception is on the rare occasions that some people (sadly all too often young women in front of men) are looking for attention for failure - what my grandmother reliably assures me was called coquetry in the 1930s. I will still let them down of course, but not give as much attention.

For more experienced climbers it depends on what works for them. Anything from 'Allez!' a la Hard Grit to 'Nice one you've nearly got it' etc., or even 'C'mon you're not going to lose are you?' as long as they know where the comment is coming from. All depends on the climbers and the relationship.

Worth bearing in mind that people enter different mental states when they struggle when climbing and so may need different forms of encouragement than they would otherwise. Personally I like people to be gentle with me in most areas of my life, but when climbing I like lots of positive comments laced with a firm expectation of success.

Hope that's of some use!

ml
 Goucho 17 Jul 2014
In reply to Lobsbelow:

Hurry the f*ck up, or else I'll tie the ropes off and go to the pub