UKC

MIA Trainee offering free instruction in Scotland

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mine2209 23 Jul 2014
Hi all,

I am currently getting ready for my MIA (Mountain Instructors Award) assessment and am looking for people (preferably pairs) to provide free tuition to in preparation for it.

It will involve going rock climbing and scrambling in Scotland and either been guided or receiving tuition and in cases maybe bit of both.
I am particularly interested to hear from people wanting to make there first steps to leading or wanting to progress from single pitch to multi-pitch leading.
As well as people looking to get out scrambling, who may only have walking experience and are wanting to make the next step.

I currently work as a freelance outdoor instructor based in Scotland, I hold the Summer Mountain Leader award (ML), Winter Mountain Leader award (WML), Single Pitch Rock Climbing award (SPA), have completed my Mountain Instructor Award (MIA) training and am a trainee member of the Association of Mountaineering Instructor (AMI)

My assessment dates are in early September and I'm available for almost all of the remainder of July and August to take people out both weekdays and weekends.

If you'd like to take up this opportunity please email me through here giving a brief outline of your previous experience and what you'd like to learn, as well as a contact number so we can have a chat and we'll go from there.

Don't be shy I would ideally like to book as many people as possible

PLEASE NOTE:

MIA Trainee
- As an MIA trainee I do not, as yet, hold the Mountain Instructor Award which is the recognised qualification for the instruction of scrambling and multi-pitch rock climbing in the UK. I've undergone the training course, but training for an award does not constitute a qualification. The term aspirant should not be used as a level of competency for multi-pitch climbing has not been assessed.

Insurance