UKC

Getting started in South Wales

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Trinder 23 Jul 2014

Hi guys just a few questions for anyone that has climbed the cymlyn quarries in South Wales , I'm relatively new to climbing I've done bits here and there but never really got into it properly , I work as an irata rope access technician but that's completely different to sport climbing as you already know , I'm going to try cymlyn quarries on the weekend and do a bit of top roping with another irata tech I know , my questions are what if any experience of these climbs do you have and is there any other climbs in the area that I should be attempting before hand , if I've not been clear about anything please let me know and I'll be happy to explain what I mean , as I've said I'm new to this type of climbing and don't really know the jargon or technical fact so please bare with me
Post edited at 20:23
 mattrm 23 Jul 2014
In reply to Trinder:

I wouldn't bother with the quarries at Cyrmlyn. They're not great for top roping as you'll find it hard to get to the top of the route safely. Unless you're fairly good, most of the routes aren't that easy there. Also it's not that nicer place.

Navigation Quarry might not be too bad, as it's an easy walk to the top and there's bolts on the back of the quarry wall, but the routes are again hardish (well mostly 6a upwards).

Trebanog isn't probably an awful choice, lots of short routes and some concrete posts which you could rig up a top rope of, assuming you have plenty of rigging rope. Very easy to get to the top of the routes as well. Lots of easy routes.

OP Trinder 23 Jul 2014