UKC

Tough Mudder training

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 DreadyCraig 20 Aug 2014
Been roped into signing up to do Tough Mudder in 6 weeks time. I currently am only running 5k once a week (have done a few half marathons though, but not run any real distance for about a year)and climb at a low is level.
What is the best training to get fit for Tough Mudder in this time?
Simos 20 Aug 2014
In reply to DreadyCraig:

Pray
 ianstevens 20 Aug 2014
In reply to DreadyCraig:

Not done it myself, but based on the experience of others, a lot more running than you're doing at the minute.

Plus roll about in some filth, so you feel at home whilst doing it!
 Firestarter 20 Aug 2014
In reply to DreadyCraig:

Go on to the TM web - they have training schedules designed for different mudder levels. Good luck -it's bloody good fun (about two weeks after the event....)
 felixizzy 21 Aug 2014
In reply to DreadyCraig:

I did it earlier this year. I started training about 2 and a half months before. My training consisted of running & climbing and not a lot else. Got to a point where I was able to run about 10 miles off road without much of a break... you get loads in tough mudder with ques for obsticles. And climb as much as possible, upper boy strength is pretty damn handy. It was hard but not quite as hard as I was expecting. Hope this helps.
OP DreadyCraig 21 Aug 2014
In reply to hokkyokusei:

Do I have to grow a beard to shave it off?
 Ander 21 Aug 2014
In reply to DreadyCraig:

I'm not entirely convinced that running is what will get your round. However, if a 5k once a week is the only phys you do, then that possibly won't be enough.

Think about the demands of the tough mudder. You'll jog from obstacle to obstacle, stand in a queue and then do a few minutes with high intensity using a variety of stregth/agility/balance/however you want. Running won't particularly help you with the