UKC

The cultural side of naming routes: some dodgy research

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

I came across this article on the BMC:

https://www.thebmc.co.uk/route-names-reveal-20th-century-climbing-culture-i...

I'm not sure how useful it is as it only looked at 145 routes on four cliffs, but the most interesting thing was a couple of sentences towards the end:

"None of the climbs analysed had been named by women. There have been about six female first climbers in the UK, who have named approximately 84 climbs between them."

Now I'm no expert, but "about" 6 female first ascentionists in the UK? Balls.

Karin Magog
Jill Lawrence
Nea Morin
Glenda Huxter
Kath Pike
Gwen Moffatt
Lucy Creamer
Hazel Findlay
Marion Wintringham

...and this ignores those who aren't famous or have just been recorded as "J. Smith" for instance.

Maybe I've missed something here, with my night shift addled brain, but that seems like ill informed research to me.
Post edited at 01:07
 Greenbanks 30 Aug 2014
In reply to Frank the Husky:

A paper entitled "Naming and claiming: marking vertical landscapes/territory" is always going to be up its own *rse. An excellent contribution to Pseuds Corner though.
 Blue Straggler 30 Aug 2014

They say "about six". You are able to name only nine and allude to more. Are you really in that much of a stronger position that you can spout off like that?
 Dave Garnett 30 Aug 2014

>
> ...and this ignores those who aren't famous or have just been recorded as "J. Smith" for instance.
>

And all the ones who have have made first ascents who haven't felt the need to name anything - that's a bit of a male thing.
In reply to Dave Garnett:

> And all the ones who have have made first ascents who haven't felt the need to name anything - that's a bit of a male thing.

You can't blame a researcher for not knowing the unknowable!
 Dave Garnett 30 Aug 2014
In reply to Blue Straggler: