UKC

Where to learn alpine stuff in June/July

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Thelongcon 11 Nov 2014
Hi all,

As I'm in the middle of my exam period, I was procrastinating by checking my units for next year. Imagine my delight when I saw that it appears that I don't have any exams in the first semester, leaving me with 8 weeks to go play, all of June and July next year.

I'd love to learn alpine stuff. I currently live in Australia, so apart from a few snowboarding trips to Japan, I have no knowledge or experience in snow. I am a relatively strong sport climber (high 7's), with small amounts of trad experience.

Any recommendations on where I can go that will be cheap and safe? Is it worth doing a course? Can I just find my own Mr. Miagi?

Thanks.

Rich W Parker 12 Nov 2014
In reply to Thelongcon:

If I were you, wherever you go, I'd think about doing a course. It's probably the quickest (albeit with a cost) way to start getting a handle on the big range of skills required to make Alpine mountaineering reasonably safe. And I say reasonably. There's some ok deals around for 5 day courses and the like if you hunt around.

Austria is not a bad bet for venues that are a wee bit 'Alpine Lite' and not too expensive. Zermatt, Chamonix and Cortina are some place that'll hurt your pocket unless you're a wizard at the thrift. A guy I met said "it's a good day in Switzerland when you haven't spent £100." And that was years ago!

All the best,
Rich.
 Mark Haward 12 Nov 2014
In reply to Thelongcon:

I guess New Zealand would be your closest bet. Great alpine climbing, awesome guides and courses although not the easiest time of year for alpine climbing. Other possibilities would include the US or Canada.