UKC

Influence of hillwalking on environmental awareness

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
lizheath 08 Jan 2015
Hey

I'm currently studying a HND in outdoor education at Glasgow Kelvin College. As part of my studies I am conducting a research project, on which I am aiming to discover the influence that hillwalking has on a person's environmental awareness; and whether that awareness has a direct impact on our planet.

If you have a spare few minutes, I have created a short survey and it would be great if you could fill it out.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/CNZH57D

Thank you very much for your assistance!
Liz
 deepsoup 08 Jan 2015
In reply to lizheath:
> I am aiming to discover the influence that hillwalking has on a person's environmental awareness; and whether that awareness has a direct impact on our planet.

Oh definitely. I've become much more environmentally conscious since I started driving my enormous 4x4 up to Scotland every weekend.

(Survey done.)

Removed User 08 Jan 2015
In reply to lizheath:

I think by "our planet" you mean The Earth.
That would be a good start.

Hillwalking or any other outdoor physical activity connects people with their environment, their climate, the land and landscape. Anyone that works or spends a lot of time outdoors has a better understanding of how they fit in with all the other critters and processes that happen on Earth.

That is obvious so your survey will demonstrate that I'm sure.
abseil 08 Jan 2015
In reply to Removed User:

> That is obvious so your survey will demonstrate that I'm sure.

Lots of good and important research tests "obvious" things! And so it should - often.

Liz, I've done your survey, good luck with your research.
In reply to lizheath:

Done!

Made me think about what I'm doing and why...

Good luck with project.
lizheath 08 Jan 2015