UKC

Go Pro-ing a long, remote trip

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 20 Jan 2015
Has anyone any experience with go pro-ing a long (3 weeks), remote (NWT) trip. 6-8 of us are on for canoeing the Nahanni this summer and we'd like to make a good account of it.

Key issues I see are:

Batteries
Capacity for re-charging will be limited
Restricting footage (I'm thinking about half an hour of footage a day would be enough, filming key stages and sights and editing down to a half hour film in the end)
I'm thinking 3 go pro's mounted on head, hand held and fixed but inter changeable within the group

I have zero experience with this so if anyone has actually done it and can offer some advice I'd appreciate it.
Removed User 20 Jan 2015
In reply to Removed User:

Just one bump to see if any is out there whose done this?
 Dax H 21 Jan 2015

I have not done it canoeing but I have on bikes.
I prefer the footage from a bar mount to a helmet mount.
The bar mount has a fixed view of the road and captures the ride but the head mount can be all over the place, the camera pan's around as you do shoulder checks etc.

Charging wise why not get a solar charger if you have room. Memory cards are dirt cheap and the more you record the more likely you are to capture that little spontaneous moment that makes the entire trip.
 wbo 21 Jan 2015
In reply to Removed User: I think you should be fine with a solar charger - from my limited experience the power demands to recharge a go-pro are very low. Having said that I can see that if you're canoeing by day when the sun is out there's a problem

And you'll need to take a lot of cards

In reply to wbo:

> Having said that I can see that if you're canoeing by day when the sun is out there's a problem

Some Powermonkeys and similar products have in-built batterys so you can charge things at night.

HeMa 21 Jan 2015