UKC

advice on a training programme

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
youngclimber 03 Mar 2015
I have been climbing for about 1 and a half years now, im 16, weigh about 65kg, boulder about 5-6 times a week (3 days on 1 day off) and can climb at a maximum level of 7B+ font grade in bouldering. Up to this point improvement has been consistent but it has slowed down a lot recently. I have never followed a proper programme and when it comes to dieting/resting/technique/peaking/when to train/how often i am a total novice, I usually just took advice from friends who were better than me.

My question is, what would you guys recommend for my training programme/diet. I am not concerned about injuries or overtraining etc, all I want to do is get the strongest I can in the smallest amount of time. Any supplements or skin repair techniques and little extra tips are always appreciated as well!!

If i have left any information out that you guys need to know i will be happy to tell you
 WildCamper 03 Mar 2015
In reply to youngclimber:

Ah, to be young and have no cares about injury & overtraining.. lol lol

seriously though, its difficult to make solid suggestions because of your age. You dont need any suppliments just a proper diet that supports your activity, your body will do the rest.

id be tempted to suggest hitting the weights as they are the best way to build strength quickly imo but your age makes it a bit iffy.
some camps say strength training for young people is fine, others recommend waiting til you have stopped developing. Either way i would speak to your Dr and a suitably qualified personal trainer before embarking on any training program

Also be prepared to make compromises in your climbing schedule, lifting heavy then climbing hard is tough on the body & mind

good luck
 zimpara 03 Mar 2015

If I was that young again, I would definitely strive to be as flexible as I possibly could.
 Dandan 03 Mar 2015