UKC

Tripod Advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Brumbler 04 Mar 2015
Looking for a bit of advice on which tripod to buy, more than happy to buy second hand and save some cash. Ideally want it to be £100 or under, will be for a Nikon D7000. I've been using a gorillapod for a couple of years and finally the joints have worn out, I've found it really good but thinking a proper tripod might be better for filming.
Dorq 05 Mar 2015
In reply to Brumbler:

You could try established brands such as Manfrotto (Bogen?), Slik, Velbon, Giottos, and so on; you might have luck on ebay or try Ffordes if you want to pay a bit more for a guarantee of some sort. Are you going from a tabletop gorilla pod? If so, you may want to try something in between that and a heavy aluminium standard model. See this thread, where there is a discussion about an ebay travel tripod that is supposed to be good value:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?n=602347

You probably want to get something that includes a head and legs (either pan & tilt platform or ballhead) perhaps even a bag to carry it in. China produces such inexpensive set-ups these days, you could get something for a ton that will do you for years.

Personally, I would get something light and compact for that price, which will mean stooping with the centre column extended and concomitant risk of camera shake --- that way you are left with a sensible upgrade/addition rather than replacement in future.

Jon
 zimpara 05 Mar 2015
In reply to Brumbler:
I've got a velbon- one of the bigger ones velbon 630 I think it is off hand... Plenty sturdy, nice big latches on the tele legs-just don't expect to use it that much. I've switched between tripods and monopods etc and I'm only happy when I haven't got one of them. Quite a hassle(and I LOVE carrying stuff for what its worth)

The shorter tripods with the stupid wind up stalk are Shakie at the top end.

I would stick to the gorilla pods to be frank.