UKC

altimeter app

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Matis 09 May 2015
Hello everybody!

I'm an app developer and a few times a year I also go climb mountains.
I noticed that most apps in the App Store that measure your height aren't accurate and really don't look good.
So, my question is if anyone would be interested in such an app and if so which features it should really include.
Feel free to drop all your thoughts below!
If their is enough interest I will make an accurate altimeter app, I already searched a bit on the internet and I'm convinced that making a really accurate altimeter app, that requires no internet, is possible.

Thanks in advance,
Matis
 splat2million 09 May 2015
In reply to Matis:

Surely the problem is that GPS is not terribly accurate in measuring altitude.
Phones don't have a barometer so therefore can't function as altimeters except by GPS.
 Dark-Cloud 09 May 2015
In reply to Matis:

Search harder ! Already been done, the iPhone 6 has a barometer.
 PPP 09 May 2015
In reply to Matis:

There are some available on Android/iPhones, but way much better ones on Android (seemed more like a software issue rather than anything to do with hardware).

What I would like from an app is to see grid reference, altitude AND the accuracy (both horizontal and vertical, if possible). Some apps are completely useless as they say that you are in XX015000 and they suddenly update to XX017000 or something. Same with altitude, it takes some time to get the accurate coordinates, but I want to see how accurate they are. Gridpoint GB (iPhone) deals with that quite well, but it does not show the altitude.

On the other hand, Alpine Quest equivalent on iPhone would be quite cool. I paid almost 10 pounds for Android version, but now I have iPhone and there's nothing like this (or I couldn't find any).
Matis 10 May 2015
In reply to splat2million: