UKC

Car driver overtaking cyclists

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Trangia 30 Jun 2015
I've recently returned from a trip to the Dolomites where there are loads of cyclists out on the roads. What struck me is generally how considerate car drivers there are towards cyclists when overtaking them on mountain roads.

Now I'm not used to driving on twisty mountain roads in a hire car I hardly know on the "wrong" side of the roads, so on the whole by Italian standards I was a slow driver which seemed to make cars coming up behind me take big risks (or so they seemed to my untrained eye) in overtaking me on hairpins.

However as soon as I came up behind cyclists and slowed down until I could overtake them safely, the tailgating italians backed off and seemed perfectly happy to let me overtake the cyclists once I could see properly ahead and felt it safe to do so. The following Italians also took loads of care overtaking the cyclists, then raced up behind me again only to overtake me in a silly place.

Strange, but refreshing to see such consideration towards cyclists.

To those Italian drivers I held up, sorry for being a slow coach, I'm sure that with a lifetime of experience on your twisty mountain roads I'll build up the confidence to hare round hairpins into the face of the unknown which from time to time might turn out to be a truck which has pulled out ready to take the bend. I might even by then have stopped trying to punch a hole through the door when I start trying to change gear with my left hand........
 balmybaldwin 30 Jun 2015
In reply to Trangia:

When ever the subject of cycling and cars interacting comes up, this obvious discrepancy between uk and European driving standards highlights how woefully cyclists are treated in this country on the whole. Everywhere I have been on the continent is the same - mental driving most of the time but proper consideration for vulnerable road users
ultrabumbly 30 Jun 2015