UKC

New climber. what gear?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Roobag 04 Jul 2015
I have been climbing indoors for six months, have just been away for my first outdoor climb at Symonds Yat and would like to start collecting my own Trad gear. I only have a harness, 5x quickdraws and shoes so far and don't know what to get next. I would like suggestions for rope, helmet, nuts or hexes? Don't think I can afford cams atm. Also I don't really like my climbX harness any alternative suggestions? Thanks, Ben.
 WildCamper 04 Jul 2015
In reply to Roobag:
Wild country classic nuts are great value imo as are DMM Torque nuts.

For a harness i would go with either a Petzl Corax or a DMM Renegade.

DMM, Wild Country & Petzl make good, well priced helmets too
 elsewhere 04 Jul 2015
In reply to Roobag:
A helmet, nut key & prussiks is enough to be ready to second or spend the day alternating leads with somebody who has a rack.

Needlesports for better info...

http://www.needlesports.com/catalogue/content.aspx?con_id=285f8f26-74d0-457...
OP Roobag 04 Jul 2015
In reply to elsewhere:

Rack?
 elsewhere 04 Jul 2015
In reply to Roobag:

"Rack" - equipment ie all the slings, nuts, extenders and cams etc
 PPP 04 Jul 2015
In reply to Roobag:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=840

Though you don't have to buy everything as you are most likely to climb with someone experienced at first who are going to show you how to place gear, build anchors, etc. These people usually have everything they and you might need, so you would need only your own personal gear (shoes, harness, nut key, belay device, helmet, etc.).
 Wsdconst 04 Jul 2015
In reply to Roobag:

Wild country vision is a really comfortable harness and sometimes there on offer
 Skip 05 Jul 2015
In reply to Wsdconst:

> Wild country vision is a really comfortable harness and sometimes there on offer