UKC

Recommendations?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Gills 20 Sep 2015
Looking to buy my first rope (s). Really not sure what is best to get, it would only be for trad so should I get a single or half ropes? What brands are good? Is it better to get cheaper for my first set? I've only jus started leading and I I'm not in a rush to buy anything but think because of that I've looked around online so much I've confused my self!!

Also random question: if climbing as a group of 3 on half ropes with leader tied into both ropes and a second on a rope each does that mean they need to be rated for single use aswell seeing as the seconds don't have the security of a second rope?

Sorry if those are stupid questions I'm still learning
 Mark Kemball 20 Sep 2015
In reply to Gills:

Personally, I'd recommend a pair of half ropes for trad. It's fine for 2 seconds to follow on a rope each, providing that the route is going more or less straight up (a long traverse could mean enormous pendules if things go pear shaped, also, watch out for routes with a lot of rope-slicing sharp rock edges - 2 ropes are a real advantage here, but I wouldn't like to follow on a single half rope!

Have you belayed a leader on a pair of half ropes? It is a bit more tricky than a single - but once you get the hang of it, it's not too difficult to take in on one rope while giving slack on the other (you need to do this as the leader climbs up to some gear that's been placed overhead on one of the ropes).

I now use skinny (8.1mm) half ropes as it is less weight to carry, but I'd go for something thicker to start with. Also, for climbing in this country, 50m is ample. As for which brand, I don't know, I've been happy with my Beal ropes, but I'd go for the cheapest if I were you.
OP Gills 21 Sep 2015
In reply to Mark Kemball:

Thanks for the advice mark