UKC

Road shifters / brakes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 girlymonkey 06 Oct 2015
So I am relatively new to road cycling. However, I have been enjoying using the bike instead of the car for many journeys and many weeks doing a 60km commute a couple of days. However, I have been finding that my thumb joint is getting sore as I have to reach so far to try to brake when I am riding on the hoods. I think the hoods are just too chunky for me to get my fingers past them far enough to pull the brakes without straining the thumb joint.
I am about the same size as most 11 year olds that I know, so what do they put on kids road bikes? I only have 8 speed at the back (I'm in the budget end of the bike market!), so I need to find a shifter that I can reach round and will adjust well for 8 speed.
Any suggestions?
 LastBoyScout 06 Oct 2015
In reply to girlymonkey:
If they are Shimano, you can get shims to bring the levers closer to the bar (check for your model), but that might not solve your problem, as they mainly reduce the reach when you're on the drops. They may also might cause brake rub if your wheels aren't dead true, as you need the pads closer to the rim due to the reduced pull distance.

I've heard rumours of short-reach levers, but I think those are just the same as normal ones supplied with the shims already fitted.

You could try a different model of lever that might suit your hand better, but there's a limit to how much you can do and still retain the gear shifter internals.

At the extreme end, you could change to just brake levers only and move the shifting elsewhere - options are levers on the bar ends, down-tube mounted ones or even Gripshift/MTB rapid fire levers mounted near the stem.
Post edited at 13:08
OP girlymonkey 06 Oct 2015
In reply to LastBoyScout: