UKC

Best durable waterproof jacket for hill walking ??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Hector Heathcote 10 Oct 2015
Hi Folks,
with Xmas and the January Sales approaching I have been thinking of getting a new, lined but not insulated waterproof jacket. The one I have been using for the last ten or twelve years has been an early North Face jacket with the Hi-vent coating. It has been very good, very strong and breathable, but it is beginning to look "rather used" now so I am looking to update.
I`m out in the Peak District in all weathers and carry a light to medium weight rucksack and would like to buy a jacket that would keep the weather out but be strong enough to last for the next ten or twelve years.
So, have any of you good readers out there have any suggestions to offer?
Many thanks.
regards,
 Welsh Kate 11 Oct 2015
In reply to Hector Heathcote:

If you seriously want durable, then look at Paramo, though they are warmer than standard shell jackets.
Paramo would be my recommendation if durability is a top priority (and for me reliability and comfort thrown in). That said they are much warmer than other waterproofs. I run hot with hill walking anyway but even so they are still my go to waterproofs for the worst conditions or poor highly variable conditions. I'd rather run hotter and be comfortable than be cold and wet from the lack of breath ability from other "normal" waterproofs.

I do wear other jackets for warmer conditions though - above 8C full weight Paramo is going to be too warm for me.

Suggest you search the forums as there are many Paramo posts to get a diverse range of views. They are a love or hate make.

Besides Paramo, I'll leave it to others to make recommendations as my experience of them is limited.
 olddirtydoggy 11 Oct 2015