UKC

How not fast is this?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Greasy Prusiks 14 Oct 2015

Evening all,
Yesterday I had a bit of a bet. As part of this I ran 1.5 miles in a few seconds under 9:40. I'm a complete beginner at running so don't know whether that's a respectable time or not? If someone could give me a rough idea I'd be grateful.
Cheers,
Greasy

(PS I won the bet )
Post edited at 21:16
 Run_Ross_Run 14 Oct 2015
In reply to Greasy Prusiks:

About average.
 Rich_cakeboy 14 Oct 2015
If you could maintain that pace for 3.1 miles it would be a sub-20 minute 5 k, which is perfectly respectable. If you could keep going that long
Post edited at 21:40
 jezb1 14 Oct 2015

If you're not a runner, that's a respectable time
 The New NickB 14 Oct 2015

For what it's worth, you would comfortably pass the running element of the Army fitness test.

How old are you?
In reply to The New NickB:

That was actually the bet- £10 I couldn't do the Parachute Regiment basic fitness test. Which according to my mate is that run in sub 9:40, 50 press ups in sub 2 minutes, 50 sit ups in sub 2 minutes and 7 pull ups. Not sure I believe him, but that felt comfortable.

I'm uni student type age but rebuilding fitness after serious illness.

Thanks for the comments everyone. That's good to know.
 The New NickB 14 Oct 2015
In reply to Rich_cakeboy:

> If you could maintain that pace for 3.1 miles it would be a sub-20 minute 5 k, which is perfectly respectable. If you could keep going that long

Realistically it's about a 21 minute 5k, but still not a bad effort for a non-runner!
Moley 14 Oct 2015

You say that you aren't a runner, but not if you do another sport.

If you sit on your arse playing video games all your free time and take no exercise, then I'm bloody impressed.

If you play football and train several times a week, its what I may expect.
 Roadrunner5 15 Oct 2015

Its pretty good, but also pretty normal for a sporting male.