UKC

What is so wrong with matching hands on holds?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Andrew Kin 20 Oct 2015
Asking this question as i am genuinely interested in the benefits and pitfalls involved.

If a youngster tends towards matching their hands up on a hold and then reaching for the next one, what are the downsides?

Is it less efficient?
Does it tend towards injuries in youngsters?

I am finding that my chllds climbing is being steered away from her static climbing style which although slower, does tend towards some excellent results. I have nothing against her swinging around like a monkey, pulling off dynamic moves and tbh would like to encourage this, more from the perspective of having more tools in the chest for climbing.

But why is it borderline frowned upon to slow yourself down, adjust your body position, match up your hands and then reach for a hold?

I am a total beginner so i am not looking for a who is right/wrong, more this is why this is better or worse.

Thanks in advance
 john arran 20 Oct 2015
In reply to Thelittlesthobo:

I'm guessing your child's climbing is unusually static and measured. In which case it's quite likely that more fluid movement could be more efficient. Hanging around on holds takes energy and saps strength that could be vital higher up the route, so should be avoided unless there are clear benefits. The fact that your child may climb well at the moment doesn't mean there isn't room for improvement if she can adopt a more efficient style and a good coach will try hard to redress any imbalance that your child is showing.

I have always been a slow and measured climber and definitely benefit from being more forceful whenever the situation merits - I think possibly I would be more able and willing to adapt as needed if I'd been coached well from a young age.

From what you've said, I wouldn't worry about it.
Andrew Kin 20 Oct 2015
In reply to john arran: