UKC

Slovenia & Croatia

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Rog Wilko 13 Nov 2015
I’m considering a trip in the campervan to Slovenia and maybe Croatia in the late spring (end of May). I would be interested to hear any recommendations for crags suitable for a beginner. Not that I am a beginner, it’s just that I don’t really do more than 5+ these days. I’m wanting some reasonable quality routes, not just the odd easy route at the fag-end of a hard crag, and I’m not keen on very polished rock. Single pitch routes are probably of most interest, but if there are any good easy multi-pitch routes that would be of interest. Big walk-ins aren’t wanted, either!
If there are any comments on suitability of that time of year, or suggestions of non-climbing venues not to be missed that would be good too. Any gen on guidebooks/topos would be welcome. Are local topos available?
Thanks in advance.
 tjekel 13 Nov 2015
In reply to Rog Wilko:
west to southeast:

trieste (napoleonica, sistiana, val rosandra (ca 1000 routes, lots of easy stuff),
osp (good campground, osp&misja pec have some easy stuff, crini kal lots of),
kamena vrata, for a days stopover,
rovinj (rovinj, dvigrad, limski kanal ... stuff for a week)
baska (easy stuff for a week and probably empty but good climbing)

all reasonably documented on ukc ...

siddarta "climbing without frontiers" for triest/osp/istria, climbinbaska.com & ukc for baska.

all good for may.
Post edited at 14:18
In reply to Rog Wilko:

I have campervanned and climbed in both of those places - lovely part of the world.

Will you be driving through europe? If so, Lake Bled is a nice spot to stop, and Ljubliana is a nice city - the castle is worth a day.

There *is* climbing around Bled (bohinjska bela) but we weren't that impressed, especially in the 5s. I'm not sure about the rest of the climbing in Slovenia.