UKC

Has the DSLR had its day?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stp 03 Dec 2015
I've been using a mirrorless camera for around 3 years now and have long thought that this format would be the death knell for the DSLR. I was interested to read a top fashion photographer's blog yesterday who thought the same thing.

There seem to be only two downsides to mirrorless cameras: battery life and focus speed. The first is not really a technological issue: bigger batteries or carry spares. The issue of focus speed has been more significant though now seems largely overcome by technological advances. The newer contrast detect cameras have AF that's good enough for everything other than fast sports. And some of the new Sony cameras now use phase detect AF (and some of the older SLT cameras claimed to have faster AF than all but the best DSLRs). There also seem to be an increasing number of full frame mirrorless cameras now.

So with the focusing issue largely solved is there anything that will prevent aging DSLR going the same way as the TLRs?
 PPP 03 Dec 2015
In reply to stp:

You look more professional with a big camera (i.e. DSLR with a bigish lens and an external flash with Lumiquest Big Bounce diffuser). I found that I was a lot braver in the crowd to get through. Everyone knows you aren't messing around (even if you actually do). Getting good shots becomes a lot easier in clubs or events.

My E-PL5 with pancake lens (Lumix 20mm) just looks so tiny. It does not even have a flash built in, nor OVF/EVF. I found that a lot less people try to mimic me now as they do not see "the professional in the crowd", if you know what I mean.