UKC

Lake District Conditions

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 shah 17 Jan 2016

I've heard around that the lakes might be in condition. I have some experience from the alps, so where would be a good place to go for a day, and is it even in condition at all?
Post edited at 13:18
 TobyA 17 Jan 2016
In reply to shah:

A bit vague a question! In condition for what? And where exactly?

But overall - there is a lot of snow in the Lakes down low, walking is hard due to this. But the turf even on the highest tops isn't fully frozen and the ice is only starting to form (it's not particularly cold). I ski toured yesterday rather than tried to climb, and this seemed like the right decision talking to a few people who had tried climbing above Red Tarn. The ridge scrambles were very popular though.
 Mike Hewitt 17 Jan 2016
I headed off up Blencathra today and we turned around after a couple of hours as my mate was exhausted after swimming through the powder since we left the road (we did pick our own route, away from the main easy path). Coming down we passed several groups of skiers who were sliding up faster than I could ever walk.

I suggest sticking to a ridge route or wait until the power consolidates. Either way have fun
 Brass Nipples 17 Jan 2016
In reply to shah:

Watch out for the glacier behind Scafell, new crevasses opened up today.
 adamsky 17 Jan 2016
In reply to shah:
Climbed on scafell crag yesterday which was fun. We were climbing on deep ghyll buttress which was hoared up. But of a wade to get there but was worth it for an awesome route.
Post edited at 17:23
 DR 17 Jan 2016
In reply to Mountain Llama: