UKC

DSLRs - reliable review/comparison sites?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tall Clare 24 Jan 2016
Hello all,

It's a while since I've asked questions on the photo bit of the site (I think!) but I've had lots of useful advice from here in the past, so here goes...

I have a big birthday coming up in the not too distant future, and Mr TC has suggested that he gets me a new DSLR. I had a Canon 350D years ago, but since then my digital meanderings have been via a Canon G9 and (currently) a G16. For further context, my most recent camera purchase was a 35 year old Mamiya 645... I'm a reasonably competent/experienced photographer, but most of what I've done over the years has been on film.

So I'm a bit out of the loop with what's what in the world of DSLRs, and I'm wondering - where's the best place to start doing some research? Are the likes of Ken Rockwell/DPReview as reliable as they used to be? And while it sounds like budget isn't too much of a concern, I know that I'll need to be thinking about lenses for whatever I get (more specifically, whether full frame is still automatically the better choice?)

I'm aware that this all sounds a bit vague but I know UKC loves a 'what DSLR' question almost as much as you love a 'what estate car' question... <ahem>. So - your pointers on research sites would be very gratefully received!
 Chris Craggs Global Crag Moderator 24 Jan 2016
In reply to Tall Clare:

DPReview know EVERYTHING you need to know - takes a while to navigate as there is so much info available but great site:

http://www.dpreview.com/

Chris
Clauso 24 Jan 2016
In reply to Tall Clare:

You don't want a DSLR for your birthday.
OP Tall Clare 24 Jan 2016
In reply to Clauso:

Hahahaaaa!
interdit 24 Jan 2016
In reply to Tall Clare:

dpreview are reliable in my opinion.