UKC

Sinkhole in gritstone?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

There is massive disruption on the roads through Broadbottom (Glossop) this morning, apparently because of a sinkhole.

I thought sinkholes were limestone features where running water (more quickly if acidic) exploited existing cracks, enlarging them to create a cavern then the roof collapsed in creating the hole.

Given that Broadbottom quarry is gritstone as is everything else in the area, I'm confused. My conclusions are:

1) Sinkholes also happen on gritstone but I've never seen or heard of one before.
2) There must be some limestone under the grit that the grit has fallen into.
3) It isn't actually a sinkhole as reported but a similar feature that has been simplified by the media.

Any geology bods out there want to educate me?

I'm also a teacher at a school in Glossop and loads of the kids are likely to ask me about this today so it would be nice to have an answer for them.
Post edited at 08:59
In reply to Somerset swede basher:
Tell them the real truth. Satan is breaking free and is about to release the zombie armies.
Hadfield is a gonner!
Post edited at 09:11
 RyanOsborne 05 Feb 2016

I think they're talking about a sinkhole in the road construction rather than a sinkhole in the bedrock.

Google 'sinkhole Mancunian Way' for example.

cb294 05 Feb 2016

I have to admit the Satan explanation sounds more likely, but you also get sinkholes in sandstone areas.

Happens in Dresden every spring, as the valley floor is packed with sand. The sinkholes are then created by water, especially when floodwater saturates the sandy soil. If you then have a means of removing the wet sand, e.g. if the water can force its way into a broken drain, holes can be flushed out rapidly. From the surface these cavities are often visible only as sagging tarmac, but when they dig them out would have been big enough to swallow a bus.

CB
 Andy Morley 05 Feb 2016