UKC

Cheap folding bikes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 James Malloch 15 Feb 2016
Has anyone used the cheaper variations that are available?

I think I've found a flat in London that's 2 miles from work but doesn't really have anywhere to store my road bike securely. I'm thinking that a folding bike might be a good compromise for the days I don't want to walk or I'm running a little late.

Decathlon has some available around the £150 mark which look okay. Or I could get something from halfords on the cycle to work scheme and maybe pay a little more (plus get some accessories included too).

Any thoughts would be appreciated - or if anyone wants to sell one then let me know too?
 Dark-Cloud 15 Feb 2016
In reply to James Malloch:

Then Giant ones are meant to be pretty good and are around £500 so bike to work territory.
 Crofty 18 Feb 2016

I work in a bike shop (one of our stores sells Bromptons). I work as a mechanic and can say hand on heart that there is no such thing as a good cheap folding bike. The clamps that brace the hinge are usually poor design and flex and the handlebars often have loads of play in them too.
James mentions the Giant which is where the price reflects the better quality, you need to be spending from there upwards, you might find the cheaper ones ok for a while if you are really easy on them or buy a used Brompton that has been looked after.
 Greasy Prusiks 18 Feb 2016

You could buy a second hand pub bike. Wouldn't be the end of the world if it got nicked then.
 tjin 18 Feb 2016
In reply to Crofty:

Yup, cheap bike = weak flexy bits.

If it needs to be cheap and small. I know several people who use a small step bike... Much cheaper and smaller.

I just placed my old bike at work/station for the last bit when i had to commute that way. These days i can cylce from home to work directly.
 LastBoyScout 18 Feb 2016

Get a pair of rollerskates?
 Richard Horn 18 Feb 2016