UKC

Foolish or not?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Foxache 27 Feb 2016
I've recently found myself with the elusive combination of being single and having plenty of disposable income (prior to this, the two have never coincided) but I don't know how long it'll last so I'm planning on making the most of it starting ASAP. My question is, would it be foolish to try to solo Mont Blanc via the Gouter route on my first trip out to the Alps?

I've got almost 15 years' experience of walking, scrambling, mountaineering and climbing all over the UK and Ireland and have been up and down stuff like Striding Edge, Swirral Edge, Sharp Edge, Crib Goch etc more times than I can remember in both record gales and the very worst of winter conditions. I'd never really call myself a climber but I've comfortably solo'd HVDiff, winter grade 3 and led short pitches of grade 4. I'm also very physically fit. Despite this, and despite having researched a MB ascent via the Gouter route (including equipment) to within an inch of its life and planned an itinerary down to the hour, I still wonder if soloing it first trip out there is stupid, maybe because I've not really heard of anybody else doing that. It could be that the people I hear of are too risk averse or it could be that it's for a good reason.

Any objective wisdom appreciated.
 ankyo 27 Feb 2016
In reply to Foxache:

What will you do if you fall into a crevasse?
 Adam_Turner 27 Feb 2016
In reply to Foxache:
I've got to second the above ^ Seen too many people get swallowed by crevasses who were on their own on glaciers.

The Alps are also very different to the UK... Altitude, glaciers as mentioned etc...
Post edited at 23:05
Jim C 27 Feb 2016
In reply to Foxache:

You said you were 'Single and plenty if disposable income '

Make a will before you go ( and don't forget your friends on UKC )
OP Foxache 27 Feb 2016
In reply to ankyo:

> What will you do if you fall into a crevasse?