UKC

Newbie Leics

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
J8mesb 13 Mar 2016
Hi folks.
Im a newbie to this climbing up stuff. Always wanted to try since i was young but me and a work mate went to Benham sports centre in northants last week for a lesson. We'll be going again this week. starting small and we will hopefully work our way up to a mountain side one day. Any advice for us. Have any of you been to Pinnacle in northants?
We live in Market Harborough.

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated
 dr_botnik 13 Mar 2016
In reply to J8mesb:

Join a club with experienced members, be friendly. Done much walking/camping/navigation? These skills are useful in the mountains. Learn to tie a fig 8, a bowline, a clove hitch and an Italian half hitch (Google them) and learn what they're used for.
Get the libby Peters book.
Go for a walk up snowdon when the weather is nicer.
J8mesb 14 Mar 2016
In reply to J8mesb:

Hi. I've done Snowdon twice. Camped a lot here and in Europe and im fairly good at map reading.
I'll find a club and go from there. I need to find a belay partner I can trust too lol
 olddirtydoggy 14 Mar 2016
In reply to J8mesb:
Early on I used a lot of the Glenmore lodge Youtube how to vids to get those simple safe basics into my head. Youtube is great but watch out what you take as safe on there as theres bad as well as good advice. Mike Barter is another good one, especially for the more complex stuff.
Post edited at 07:39
 DerwentDiluted 14 Mar 2016
In reply to J8mesb:

Slawston Bridge

Is worth knowing about as a nice place to go on a sunny evening.
 Tea 14 Mar 2016
In reply to J8mesb:

Market Harborough is surrounded by climbing walls. None are particularly close and they each take the same amount of time to get to.