UKC

Portland first timer tips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fenda 06 Jul 2016
Me and a friend are planning to drive down to Portland, Dorset this Saturday evening and to spend Sunday out sport climbing. It's my first time there, can anyone recommend good novice crags and also a campsite that is fairly close? Thank you!
 David Staples 06 Jul 2016
In reply to Fenda:

If you have good weather Blacknor central area & Blacknor beach would be good bets. Blacknor beach has has a number of good easy routes especially on fallen slab (Fallen slab arete is brilliant). If the weather craps out then The Cuttings ain't bad, just don't do any of the initial routes as they polished to buggery. Camping down by Portland Bill or in Weymouth.
 Owen W-G 06 Jul 2016
In reply to Fenda:

What's novice?

Sub-6a, heading to Blacknor Beach on first day and do Fallen Slab routes for starters. Sling Shot also worth seeking out.
Cuttings is a bit crap for easy routes. Try Cheyne Wears instead as gets early sun.

Blue Fish Cafe in Fortuneswell does best breakfasts. Check Sunday opening times when exiting Portland on Sat night.
West Coast crags - Blacknor, Battleship etc - generally unpleasant before noon/1pm but Beach routes (fallen Slab etc) should be OK.

Don't say the R word, in public or in private. Nothing good will come of it.
 Owen W-G 06 Jul 2016
In reply to Fenda:

Recommend camping at Osmington Mills, if coming from E, or Sea Barn if coming from W. No camping on Portland itself.
 Oujmik 06 Jul 2016
In reply to Fenda:

All the routes at the cuttings were graded by a giant with suction cups on their fingers and toes. Or at least that's how it seemed to me on my first visit there this week. I struggled to climb 2s and 3s! I went there intending to climb 4+/5 and got a massive shock when I couldn't climb the 3+ I picked for a warm up. I'm not sure if it's just a style thing, but I've climbed 4c at other crags.
 Dandan 06 Jul 2016
In reply to Fenda: