UKC

Forearm Training

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
The Marmot 10 Jul 2016
Hello,

I've been climbing on and off for 20+ years, but now live in a climbing desert (East Anglia). I seldom get the opportunity to climb, but love every minute when I do. The biggest problem I face is forearm stamina - technique, upper body and core strength is ok, but my sessions are shorter than they would otherwise be, the main culprit being the forearm pump.

Can anyone suggest some good exercises 'at home' to help with this?

With thanks
 La benya 10 Jul 2016
In reply to The Marmot:

Find a door frame. Hang off it.
 zv 10 Jul 2016
In reply to The Marmot:

Stamina is normally trained by traversing a few grades below your onsight limit, creating a gentle managable pump.

Best thing might be to build a small wall and traverse around on jugs replicating this. Additionally, this small wall would allow you to develop and maintain fitness.

If this isn't possible, I have not got a good idea. Maybe some exercises where you hang feet on, on a pull up bar for a long time, shaking out, creating a gentle manageable pump.

Generally for aerobic forearm training, you'd need to do it, around 3 times a week for a couple of months and then maintain.
 petegunn 10 Jul 2016
In reply to The Marmot:

Check out some Eastern block forearm training, basically do fingertip curls with a heavy barbell, up to 150% own bodyweight ( with training!)
Think it was used by the Russian climbing team ages ago.
 alx 10 Jul 2016
In reply to The Marmot:

Buy yourself the medium sized beastmaker campus rung and do repeaters off this. Try starting with 5 seconds in followed by 5 seconds off.
 UKB Shark 10 Jul 2016
In reply to alx:

> Buy yourself the medium sized beastmaker campus rung and do repeaters off this. Try starting with 5 seconds in followed by 5 seconds off.