UKC

INTERVIEW: Dave Birkett: The Weekend Warrior

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Articles 13 Jul 2016
Dave Birkett montage, 3 kbDave Birkett: a name synonymous with hard Lakeland mountain trad climbs. A dark horse who has rarely sought media attention, but one whose ascents and commentary on the UK climbing scene have often piqued our interest. A stonemason by trade, frequent sheep-rescuer, motorbike fanatic, and new Dad since last year, Dave describes himself - perhaps contrary to popular belief - rather nondescriptly as a "weekend warrior."

Having heard little about his climbing for a few years, Natalie Berry gave him a call to find out what he's been up to...

Read more
 Andy Moles 13 Jul 2016
In reply to UKC Articles:

Great interview. Love the insinuation that Dave Mac doesn't know a good line. Perhaps UKC could fund some sort of live stream Gladiators-style battle-off between the Daves.
 goose299 13 Jul 2016

Loving the fact he referred to Tom Randall as Freddie Mercury
 Shani 13 Jul 2016

Genuinely humorous and entertaining interview with a guy who has something to say and is willing to say it. Very refreshing. Good stuff Dave/UKC!
 Peter Walker 13 Jul 2016

That was great, thanks for following up on it Natalie.
 Brendan 13 Jul 2016

"Yeah it'd be good to see...who are those crack climbers...the offwidth fellas - the one who looks like Freddie Mercury, what's he called? (Ed:Tom Randall)"

Genuinely laughed out loud at that!
 Michael Gordon 13 Jul 2016

Brilliant interview!
 Brendan 13 Jul 2016
In reply to Andy Moles:

Would love to know if he has been to take a look at Echo Wall.
 James B 15 Jul 2016

Enjoyed that.
 andi turner 15 Jul 2016

I found it unsettling.

And how on earth does he get from Glasgow to Carlisle or wherever it was at 119mph without passing a single speed camera. I can't go five miles without crossing one!
 Michael Gordon 15 Jul 2016
In reply to andi turner:

> I found it unsettling.
>

Which bit?