UKC

Cows tails question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Flyinggardener 13 Aug 2016
hi i need a bit of advice as it seem im getting conflicting answers off people im currently making my own set of cows tails and ive been told that its possible to girth hitch the cows tails to my belay loop which would allow me a bit of adjust ability in length when i clip into the ladder on the job im working on but i thought i had better ask and see what people say..

many thanks
 zimpara 13 Aug 2016
In reply to Flyinggardener:

Is that 'girth hitched' with two seperate tails/karabiners? Not a very clever idea
Flyinggardener 13 Aug 2016
In reply to zimpara:

sorry i have very little knowledge when it comes to all this

so you cannot use a length of rope with two karabiners on the end then girth hitch it on

if that's the case can you tell me the best knot to use ??
 FactorXXX 13 Aug 2016

A figure of eight is the knot to use.
A Girth Hitch/Larks Foot can slip if you apply load to one strand only.
Post edited at 16:38
 zimpara 13 Aug 2016

Unclipping one tail and falling would be potentially disastrous as Xfact said.
You can't improve much on the systems that are most used today, they might not be elegant but they work and most are simple to always get right. Which is more important!
 John Kelly 13 Aug 2016
In reply to FactorXXX:

I wondered about girth hitching recently, in context of homemade via ferrata kit, same question, would hitch slip if you fall on single strand, couldn't find any info. Do you have some data??
 lithos 13 Aug 2016

3 options spring to mind:

1) have a single cows tail with an alpine butterfly knot in it at half way.
2) use a purcell prussic
3) instead of a cow hitch use a re-threaded figure of 8 at the harness.

FactorXXX 13 Aug 2016
In reply to John Kelly: