UKC

Garage Gym Climbing Wall - Total Beginner!!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
trimspokenabe 27 Aug 2016

Hi there, first post here
I'm completely new to the idea of indoor climbing walls, but have got the itch from reading the posts on here.

I have a brick built double garage, which I use as a gym, and I would like to build a wall to complement my strength and conditioning training. I have a carpenter lined up for next week to help build the framework, as my matted floor is being delivered soon after so need to get everything ready before then.

So... here's my first attempt at designing a wall for the space I have. It's an overall area of around 3m (w) x 2.4m (h), so modest but hopefully enough to create something decent. It's the first time I've used Sketchup also, so excuse the crudeness of my modelling!

Here are the pics:
http://imgur.com/a/U7WQD

Essentially it comprises of:
- A vertical section (I have to have this to allow the garage door to open (up and over)
- A 15 degree section (the main wall - 120cm)
- A 30 degree section (60cm)
- An overhang (50cm)
- A 30cm kickboard and some joining angles

Build will use:
- 18mm Marine Ply
- 2x4 timber for framework
- T-Nuts at 7" spacing grid

I would really appreciate any feedback on this at all, as I am so new to this, that I've guessed most of the design and feel completely out of my depth. I'm committed to doing a build, it's just a case of getting the design nailed this weekend!! oh, and I'll post progress pics to give something back to the forum.

Thankyou for reading guys.
Post edited at 00:27
 stp 27 Aug 2016
In reply to Supernova:

Looks good. I'd try to make the boards a little steeper if you can. Would be good if the 30 degree bit was more continuous. If not having the steepest bit at the bottom would be preferable.