UKC

Best cycling (auto)biography?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 kevin stephens 29 Aug 2016
I enjoyed the book on Pantani? Any other suggestions to get on my Kindle? Particularly modern times - is Millar's book worth a read?
 felt 29 Aug 2016
In reply to kevin stephens:

Racing in the Dark, the first one, is OK, but deteriorates towards the end. For my money, and I've read lots of these books as I work in the field, by far the best is The Secret Race by Tyler Hamilton (ghosted by Daniel Coyle). It's about cycling, obvs, but paced like a thriller. Anything by Richard Moore is worth a read, too.
 elsewhere 29 Aug 2016
Chris Boardman's book Triumphs and Turbulence is good.
Gone for good 29 Aug 2016
In reply to felt:

Agree about the secret race. Brilliant book and fast paced all the way through.
Other recommended reads.
Seven deadly sins by David Walsh.
The cannibal by Eddie Merckx
Plenty of choice here.
http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/the-greatest-cycling-books-of-all-time-...
 jockster 29 Aug 2016
In reply to felt:

Tomorrow, we ride by Jean Bobet is my favourite
 subtle 29 Aug 2016
In reply to jockster:

> Tomorrow, we ride by Jean Bobet is my favourite

What about Tomorrow, you don't ride by Lorena Bobbit
 Greasy Prusiks 29 Aug 2016

Lauren Fignon did a good auto biography.
 Phil1919 29 Aug 2016

I liked Graham O'Brees autobiography. Brutally honest. Can't remember its name.

Thanks all, I've downloaded the Secret Race
 The Grist 29 Aug 2016

It is not modern but "put me back on my bike....in search of Tommy Simpson" is a fantastic biography by William fotheringham.
 Padraig 29 Aug 2016
In reply to Phil1919:
> I liked Graham O'Brees autobiography. Brutally honest. Can't remember its name.

The Flying Scotsman
Post edited at 23:01
 JamButty 30 Aug 2016

I find Lance Armstrong's Its not about the bike, gives a good, honest reflection on his years at the TdF.
Rigid Raider 30 Aug 2016