UKC

Route setting

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jandwilson 04 Sep 2016
I've recently been thinking about getting into route setting.
I asked at my local climbing wall if it would be possible for me to set a few routes on their bouldering wall (worth mentioning I've been climbing there for about 5 years) and they said no because if someone was climbing on a route I'd set and they fell and hurt themselves then the climbing centre could be sued. Is there any qualification I could get that would protect the climbing wall from that? I've had a look at the RSA courses, would that be suitible?
Thanks
 Oceanrower 04 Sep 2016
In reply to TheBigFactHunt:
To be honest, that sounds like an excuse to me.

There is no industry standard route setting course and the vast majority of the best setters in the country have no formal qualifications in setting. The only (to the best of my knowledge) time that you really need to be 'approved' is if you make it onto the IFSC international list.

The best way to get into it is to keep on asking, helping out with the centres own setters (though that will probably involve quite a lot of stripping and washing) and more asking.

If one wall won't let you help, try another one. There's plenty out there.

Whereabouts are you based?
Post edited at 19:17
OP Jandwilson 04 Sep 2016
In reply to Oceanrower:

I'm in Derby, it was at alter rock I asked. They did say I could help out when the setters come in to get some experience though.
 Oceanrower 04 Sep 2016

There's your answer then. Go along and help. You'll end up with the crap jobs at first but that's life.

Of more use would be experience of working at height (Def not IRATA though!) but even then, not many will have formal qualifications.
 stp 05 Sep 2016

Agree with Oceanrower that that sounds like an excuse.