UKC

More scratches on Grooved arete?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JHiley 09 Sep 2016
Grooved Arête (HVD 4a)

Is scratching directions on Grooved arête basically considered fair game now?

Noticed that some moron left an arrow and the words "Jon, this way" on the ledge just before the knights move pitch (or something to that effect, I meant to take a photo but forgot when my partner arrived). Was aware of the two "GA" markings but this looks fresh.

Surely by that point it on the route it would be impossible to get lost unless you're particularly thick.
 Trangia 09 Sep 2016
In reply to JHiley:

No, it's NOT fair game - it's vandalism.

If Jon's mate happens to read this thread I hope he/she will feel thoroughly ashamed
 brianjcooper 09 Sep 2016
In reply to JHiley:
I've been climbing for over 40 years now, and it saddens me to see the level some climbers have descended to
regarding the protection of, and ethics on crags. Chipping, scrawling, gardening etc. are becoming the norm.
Without etiquette guidance it will only get worse.

The 'GA' has been there for many years and is one of the first bits of crag graffiti I ever saw.
Post edited at 16:53
 Tyler 09 Sep 2016
In reply to brianjcooper:
Do you really think it's getting worse? As you say the original scratches have been there a long time. Likewise I can think of very few chipping incidents/accusations in recent times (other than the odd isolated incident that seems more akin to vandalism than a erosion of ethics). In fact to say chipping is becoming the norm is absolute rubbish
Post edited at 16:57
 brianjcooper 09 Sep 2016
In reply to Tyler:

Sadly yes. Last year I was told to F'ck off! when telling a group, with climbing gear, that a BBQ under a Stanage buttress was not a good idea. Maybe the 'chipping' comment was a bit strong though, but I've seen it.

Lusk 09 Sep 2016

>...... that a BBQ under a Stanage buttress was not a good idea.

Really?