UKC

Noob - Wanting some recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Mabbsy 16 Sep 2016

Hi,

I'm a noob to walking and really, I'm just after some kit recommendations. I'll only be walking...not climbing.

I'm due to spend a long weekend in and around Snowdonia at the end of October. I'm not really sure what kit I need to take. I'm thinking baselayer, fleece and water proof....but no clue which brands/models to go for.

If anyone is willing to point me in the right direction, it would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Post edited at 12:08
In reply to Mabbsy:

I have some craghoppers gear (thermal jacket, fleece, waterproof jacket) and I think for the price it performs really well.
 SenzuBean 16 Sep 2016
In reply to Mabbsy:

It would help if you could give some specifics of what you plan to do when you get to Snowdonia, and whether you're looking to get into walking as a hobby, or just for the one trip to do something nice.

There is a world of difference in requirements between say going for a 2 hour stroll around Llyn Idwal in fair weather, and an 8 hour traverse of the Carneddau in poor weather. Obviously if you buy really good quality kit, it'll be fine for easy stuff - but if you're only planning easy stuff in fair weather, then you don't need to spend lots of money.
In reply to Mabbsy:

Hi Mabbsy