UKC

Complete novice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
GoneFishing111 24 Sep 2016
Hello everyone,

I have had a long time fascination with mountains, and i am a keen reader of all books mountain related. My question is where would one start?

A climbing wall or a mountaineering course? Join a mointaineering club or just pick it up from wherever you can?

Id like to get involved and just wondering how!

Im 27 male, reasonably fit and in the nw of england.

pdone 24 Sep 2016
In reply to GoneFishing111:

Contact some local mountaineering clubs with a view to joining one of them. They all differ and one will probably suit you more than others.
 routrax 24 Sep 2016

A day out in the mountains on a guided scramble could be a good way of seeing what it's like.
 tehmarks 24 Sep 2016

One approach is to get out into the hills in summer do do a lot of hillwalking and scrambling, moving into winter hillwalking and gaining experience of moving over the same sort of terrain in snowy conditions, before heading to the Alps and attempting easier mountaineering routes out there. Joining a club would help you gain the skills and experience safely, while giving you a ready supply of partners.

The other approach would be through rock climbing; maybe starting indoors with a course at a wall, before heading outside with an experienced partner or with a club. Eventually this will converge with the hillwalking route as you find yourself in the hills to approach technical routes.