UKC

Belaying two people in the gym on ATC possible/safe?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
StrayState 21 Oct 2016
I often help with birthday parties for younger kids at a local climbing gym, but it can be difficult as often I'm the only belayer to a large group.

I have plenty of experience belaying single climbers on top rope using my Black Diamond ATC Guide, but I was curious about the prospect of belaying two people at once using an ATC (I don't own another belay device currently).
Is it possible? Is it a safe practice? I know the guide mode is set up for two climbers, but mine would be just using it from my belay loop.

If so, does anyone have any advice one the exact hand technique and placement for doing so? My thoughts would be to pull both ropes out at the same time, put them together and hold them while sliding up my braking hand on both before splitting them (one in each hand) again to take up more slack.

james mann 21 Oct 2016
In reply to StrayState:
Possible: Yes
Safe: No.
Stupid: Yes.

James
Post edited at 18:11
 Fraser 21 Oct 2016
In reply to StrayState:

I tend to play safe and use two ATCs. Much simpler.
 Yanis Nayu 21 Oct 2016
In reply to StrayState:

I agree with James Mann. Do you work for the climbing wall? What do they say? What are their rules? I'd be amazed if they permitted it, and if they did and there was an accident I think they'd be in a spot of bother.
 DaveHK 21 Oct 2016
In reply to Fraser:

> I tend to play safe and use two ATCs. Much simpler.

That would let you belay 4!
Hardman 21 Oct 2016
In reply to StrayState:

I did see an instructor doing this once ages ago (mid 90s I think)!

Not a good idea. What if one falls off and the other keeps climbing?
 Misha 21 Oct 2016
In reply to StrayState:
Possible - may be
Safe - no
Prison food if there's an accident - quite possibly. As a belayer, particularly for kids, you have a duty of care to follow safe procedures.
 james mann 21 Oct 2016
In reply to Misha: