UKC

Awsome HS routes around Devon

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 fire_munki 27 Oct 2016
I'm just getting into leading HS (I should be able to do much more but my head is broken) so I need a list of awesome HS's around Devon and Cornwall. Single pitch to start but multi would work too.

I don't think my head will take multi-pitch sea cliffs yet but hell include them in the list anyhows!
 d_b 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

It's just over the border in Cornwall, but Vicarage Cliff has lots of excellent single pitch slab climbs up to that sort of level.

Vicarage Cliff
 petegunn 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

Sheeps Tor would be a good day out

Sheeps Tor
 GrahamD 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

Central Groove on Dewerstone is a candidate for the best HS in the country.
OP fire_munki 27 Oct 2016
In reply to GrahamD:

That's my local crag, Central Groove is a bit imposing and often lots of crowds which will also f**k with my head.

But it is on my list to do.
 Chris the Tall 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

Baggy Point

Shangri-La may only be Severe but it's a cracker, and there's plenty of HSs and VSs there
 Simon Caldwell 27 Oct 2016
In reply to GrahamD:

Right Angle is much better
 Kafoozalem 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

Nexus at Chudleigh North (check the access page - the owner appreciates a call/text)
Never on Sunday at Chudleigh South
And for something completely different Four Strong Winds at Sharp Tor near Salcombe Four Strong Winds (S 4b)
 minty1984 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

Second Central Groove at Dewerstone. Its the best HS I have ever done. Great gear, Holds and fantastic location
 GrahamD 27 Oct 2016
In reply to fire_munki:

There are a couple of other worthwile HSs at Dewerstone, although I'd have said Fly on the Wall (for one) looks even more intimidating albeit without the audience.