UKC

First timer Scottish Winter beta

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fenda 08 Nov 2016
Although I have a fair bit of experience on rock, I am new to mixed/ice. I'm taking a course over New Years that will have me learning the basics up to Grade II. I'm then hoping to get some Scottish winter mileage in before I look towards bigger objectives abroad next year.

Next February, I plan to spend a couple of weeks in Scotland. Where would be a good place to stay that would allow me to get to several objectives up to Grade III? I'm flying up from London and ideally do not want to rent a car. Also, any recommendations on where to find partners other than the UKC forums?

P.S. If anyone has similar objectives and wants to partner up, let me know.
James Jackson 08 Nov 2016
In reply to Fenda:

Realistically, without a car (or willing partners) you are going to struggle. Even getting to the central locations from airports can be a bit of a nightmare! It's all about early starts and (often) late finishes, which don't always fit with public transport.

I would say the obvious places to base yourself would be Aviemore or Fort William. Slightly less obvious, but still a good shout, would be Inverness. Plenty of climbers live there, and it does have a small airport near by.

Look up the Facebook group 'Fort William & Glencoe: Climbing Partners & Outdoor Events' as a starter for 10.
 Lucy Wallace 08 Nov 2016
In reply to Fenda:

Northern Corries are fairly accessible without a car as I believe there is a bus service operated by Stagecoach. Other honeypot areas are Fort William and Glencoe.

Enjoy your course. I'm sure that the basics of Avalanche awareness/ safe travel and navigation will be covered but can't emphasize enough how important it is to nail these.
 Tricadam 08 Nov 2016
In reply to James Jackson: