UKC

Portable Generators

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bobstones 09 Nov 2016
Not exactly gear I know but didn't really know where else to put this.

Anyone out there with any knowledge on portable or suitcase generators??

Planning a trans euro crush fest and need a suitable power supply when we're off grid. Been advised that I'll need 2000watt output (or something like that) and Honda are by far the best but you'll pay for it.

As you can see I have little knowledge on the subject so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you please.
 Dark-Cloud 09 Nov 2016
In reply to bobstones:

Why do you need a generator, what are you planning on powering ?

I have a leisure battery in my VAN for when off grid that runs the fridge, lighting, mobile phone charging etc. i only use the hookup if staying in one place for multiple days, the battery will give me 2 days running a fridge
 jkarran 09 Nov 2016
In reply to bobstones:

Why on earth would you need 2kWe for what is presumably a Euro car camping trip?

Lights: <10W
Phone charger: <10W
Laptop charger: <100W

Car electrical system: ~1.5kW
jk
OP bobstones 09 Nov 2016
In reply to Dark-Cloud:

I need something that going to last more than 2 days powering all those things. We're going to have 2 leisure batteries in ours but have been advised to get a generator as we'd like to be able to be self-sufficient for reasonable periods say 2 weeks if possible.
OP bobstones 09 Nov 2016
In reply to jkarran:

Like I said I don't know, that's just what I was told.

What do you think I'd need then?
 gethin_allen 09 Nov 2016
In reply to bobstones:

Honda are certainly the best but do you really need one?