UKC

.NET training courses

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 LastBoyScout 14 Nov 2016
Hi,

I am looking for recommendations on .NET/C# training courses, but struggling to find many at the right level.

I am an experienced software developer in other languages, so I'm not looking for a complete novice course, but neither am I looking for anything too advanced at the moment - more of a cross-training course to get to grips with a different development environment and language.

Yes, I can Google it (and have done), but was looking for some recommendations from people that have actually done similar before I lay out options to my manager.

My company will be paying for the training, which means I don't need to go super cheap, but equally won't get away with top dollar.

I'm probably the only one that needs such a course at the moment, so I'll be looking at external courses, ideally around Reading, but will be able to travel up to a point for the "right" course. I'd prefer classroom style to online.

Thanks in advance.
 Shani 14 Nov 2016
In reply to LastBoyScout:

Bob Tabor's introductory course is very good:

https://channel9.msdn.com/Series/C-Sharp-Fundamentals-Development-for-Absol...

Then head over to Pluralsight where a free 6 month trial gets you to Scott Allan's courses on Linq, generics, threading etc...

I've been a .net dev for the last 3 years moved over from c++ and never looked back. It's a great language with such a rich set of frameworks. I would recommend your employer pay for a subscription to plurasight.com. Online courses with loads of slides and exercises, you can go at your own pace and revisit.

Have fun
Jimbocz 15 Nov 2016