UKC

Alternatives to skiing in Morzine?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JohnnyW 03 Dec 2016
I have been coerced into a family skiing holiday in Morzine over the Xmas week. I am a poor skier, and don't enjoy it, whereas my grown up family do.
I plan to take some winter gear and hopefully sneak off into the hills and maybe go snowshoeing, or maybe even a small solo F or something like that, but I am unfamiliar with the area.

Obviously I am going to do some research, but any of you guys got any suggestions that may start me off?

I have plenty of experience, am a WML, so no need to tell me about avalanche risk etc, I'm very careful.....

Cheers in advance
In reply to JohnnyW:

Take skiing lessons... You might actually enjoy it...
 tim000 03 Dec 2016
In reply to JohnnyW:

try snowboarding
OP JohnnyW 03 Dec 2016
In reply to captain paranoia:

Believe me, I have. Three times. I don't.
OP JohnnyW 03 Dec 2016
In reply to tim000:

See the previous reply. Equally bad, equally unpleasant.....
 toad 03 Dec 2016
In reply to JohnnyW:

at the risk of being cliche'd, talk to the tourist information people when you get there. They know the area, and you won't be the first person to ask!
aligibb 03 Dec 2016
In reply to JohnnyW:

Christmas week is very early for stuff to be in condition, and ice to have formed... Snowshoe - theres some great areas that are pretty accessible, Vallee de la Manche and up to the Col de Cou or Col de la Golese. Or the Foron valley from Col de L'Encrenaz as starters. The morzine IGN map is on sale in the local supermarkets so is easy to pick up. Theres lots going on in town too esp for xmas week. you can also do winter tandem parapente flights which are really cool! Ali
OP JohnnyW 04 Dec 2016
In reply to aligibb:

Brilliant, thanks Ali, that's the kind of stuff I am after.............
 Trangia 04 Dec 2016
In reply to JohnnyW:
> Believe me, I have. Three times. I don't.

3 lessons or 3 seasons?