UKC

Matterhorn in winter for a complete novice?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Simon Trusty Dunn 04 Dec 2016
Hi. I have completed endurance events such as Ironman and Marathon Des Sables but have never done any climbing. My friend says we should climb the Matterhorn in winter (guided). Another friend suggested there were easier ways to commit suicide? Any advice from experienced climbers would be appreciated?
 Mr Lopez 04 Dec 2016
In reply to Simon Trusty Dunn:

> My friend says we should climb the Matterhorn in winter (guided).

Have a chat with the guide(s), and BE HONEST about your experience or lack-of. If he takes the booking you are good to go, if he doesn't then you already know why.
Removed User 04 Dec 2016
When you say "you have never done any climbing"- do you mean literally that-i.e.none at all of any sort? And your asking if the Matterhorn in winter is a sensible choice for your first climb? Don't be silly.
Post edited at 22:09
 Greasy Prusiks 04 Dec 2016

If you literally haven't climbed as in can't tie a figure of eight then my advice would be don't even think about it.

If you want to climb the matterhorn there are ways of building up to it but just jumping straight on it is not a good idea.

If you want an alp to climb Mt Blanc is a much better bet. It's not an easy option and in terms of physical challenge it's very similar to the matterhorn but it's much better suited to a 2 novices + guide ascent.
 John Kelly 04 Dec 2016

Costs about 3k online, but it looks like you would need to have more experience before they would consider you, cool target, hard
 nutme 04 Dec 2016
In reply to John Kelly:
> Costs about 3k online, but it looks like you would need to have more experience before they would consider you, cool target, hard